Städelschule introduced the Dean’s Honorary Lecture in 2006 as a celebration of architecture at the Städelschule Architecture Class’ annual end of year review of student work. The series seeks to honour a person whose contribution to the architectural discipline has been seminal in professional, academic and/or institutional terms. The Dean’s Honorary Lecture is hosted in collaboration with the German Architecture Museum. 

Since its introduction, the annual lecture has been given by: Mark Wigley (2006), Mohsen Mostafavi (2007), Greg Lynn (2008), Brett Steele (2009), Jeffrey Kipnis (2010), Sanford Kwinter (2011), Alejandro Zaera-Polo (2012), Beatriz Colomina (2013), Elizabeth Diller (2014), Benedetta Tagliabue (2015), Bernard Tschumi (2016), Farshid Moussavi (2017), Wolf D. Prix (2018) and Thom Mayne (2019).

Img 4274 copy
Img 8596


sanford kwinter - 2011

581576 369986403079116 51674602 n
563889 369986416412448 955917643 n

jeffrey kipnis - 2010

Brett steele 00


Mark wigley


Thommayneportrait creditmichaelpowers

26 June 2019 19:00 pm - DAM / The German Architecture Museum


Dean's Honorary Lecture - Thom Mayne

The Städelschule Architecture Class proudly presents Thom Mayne for its Dean’s Honorary Lecture 2019. Thom Mayne is the founding principal of Morphosis whose research and projects in architecture and urban planning have world-wide recognition and critical acclaim. Mayne's distinguished honours include the Pritzker Prize (2005) and the American Institute of Architects Gold Medal (2013). From 2009 till 2016, he served on the President's Committee on the Arts and Humanities under President Obama.

Since its founding in 1972, Morphosis has grown to have offices in Los Angeles, New York, and Shanghai. Its work spans across a wide variety of scales and typologies, from civic projects, schools, and museums to commercial towers and city planning. Under Mayne’s leadership, Morphosis’ X-Tech group pursues technology and fabrication research, working with industry partners to arrive at new solutions for constructability and performance. Mayne also leads The Now Institute, a graduate studio dedicated to applying design thinking to real-world issues facing cities today.  

With Morphosis, Thom Mayne has been the recipient of 29 Progressive Architecture Awards, over 120 American Institute of Architecture Awards and numerous other design recognitions. The work of Morphosis has been the subject of numerous exhibitions and over 30 monographs. 

Among Thom Mayne’s many academic appointments is his position as Distinguished Professor at University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA); he is also a Founding Board Member of the Southern California Institute of Architecture (SCI-Arc).

Having accepted the invitation to give the thirteenth Dean’s Honorary Lecture, Thom Mayne joins a distinguished roster of previous lecturers. The annual Dean’s Honorary Lecture was introduced in 2006 in conjunction with Städelschule Architecture Class’ End-of-Year Review and sees Städelschule's dean invite an honorary guest to give a lecture on the basis of his/her merits and contribution to architecture.

Thom Mayne’s lecture is part of Städelschule Architecture Class’ End-of-Year Programme at the German Architecture Museum. The two-day programme includes the Master Thesis Review on June 26 -27 from 10:00-18:00 each day. 

Link for the lecture here